|
Quick Links
Globus is a service that makes it easy to move, sync, and share large amounts of data. Globus will manage file transfers, monitor performance,
retry failures, recover from faults automatically when possible, and report the status of your data transfer. Globus uses GridFTP for more reliable
and high-performance file transfer, and will queue file transfers to be performed asynchronously in the background.
| Globus was developed and is maintained at the University of Chicago and is used extensively at supercomputer centers and major research facilities. [Globus website] No matter how you transfer data in and out of our systems, be aware that PII and PHI data cannot be stored or transferred into the NIH HPC systems. |
If your data is on the NIH HPC systems, you can easily share it with collaborators who are at NIH or elsewhere. All they will need is a (free) Globus account. The advantage of data sharing via Globus is that you do not need to transfer your data anywhere. This prevents data duplication, wastage of storage space, and saves time. You have full control over which files your collaborator can access, and whether they have read-only or read-write permissions.
Sharing data from NIH HPC systems (e.g. Helix or Biowulf):
Sharing data from a Globus Connect Personal endpoint (e.g. your desktop system)
Important Notes about Sharing:
To see all endpoints you have shared, go to 'Endpoints' in the left bar, then 'Administered by You'.
It is highly recommended that you delete the shared endpoint when your collaborator has completed downloading the data.
If you set up a shared endpoint and want your collaborator to download the data, this is what you need to tell them.
First, the collaborator needs to get a Globus account. The instructions for setting up a Globus account are as described on our webpage above. This account is free. They may already have Globus access via their institution.
If the collaborator is downloading the data to his/her personal workstation, they need to install the Globus Connect client. Globus connect clients are available for Mac, Windows or Linux systems and are free.
When you share data with your collaborator, they will receive an email from Globus which contains a link.
They should click on the files they want to transfer, then 'Transfer or Sync to', enter their own endpoint name and desired path.

and click the 'Start' button near the bottom to start the transfer.
Once your data transfer or project is complete, and you no longer need to share data with your collaborator, you should delete the shared endpoint that you had created. This helps to ensure that you do not inadvertently put data into a directory that you had shared in the past and forgotten about, so that your data is now being shared without your conscious knowledge.